About Us

The Dandenong Basketball Referees Association (DBRA) was founded on February 25th, 1962 with its inaugural Annual Meeting being conducted in Dandenong on January 20th, 1963. Games were originally played at the Dandenong Market Stadium and other outside venues until the current venue was opened in 1991.

After starting out with just twenty referees VBRA Dandenong now has over 150 referees registered with the branch, officiating over 6000 games each year for Dandenong Basketball.

Stadium Supervisors

Referee Supervisors are appointed to every session of basketball at Dandenong Stadium. If you experience any issues or would like to seek clarification regarding referees or competition rules, then please seek your basketball supervisor immediately. They will be wearing a supervisor shirt.  For issues with Stadium matters including court and lighting or issues with other spectators or patron the SEL Stadium Supervisor should be sought.

Referee Advisor

It is the Referee Manager responsibility to establish and improve a culture for achievement to higher levels of refereeing in a structure that adequately supports all referees, supervisors and referee coaches.

You can contact our Referee Manager at

The Referee Education Manager is in charge of the referee development program at Dandenong.

You can contact our Referee Education Manager at

Referee Courses Coordinators

A part of the Referee Managers role is to coordinate and present the different referee schools to promote referees to higher accreditation levels.

The Referee Education Manager is in charge of the delivery of the referee development program at Dandenong.

If you’re interested in becoming a referee, use the button below to complete the expression of interest form to register your interest.

Doug Shiels  **1969
Ron Burgess **1972
Don Jose1973
Ivan Murphy  **1974
John Morgan1981
Bill Cooney1984
Daryl Moody1995
Charlie Hogan2005
Peter Reid  #2005
Nigel Dukes2008
Bob Tyler2006
Andrew Spalding2008
Arthur Payne  **2009
Ron Williams2009
Corey Neil2010
Allan Manhire2012
Daniel Banik2012
Robyn Manhire2017
Ron Burgess1974
Scott Cogley2000
Vaughan Mayberry2000
Robyn Manhire2009
Andrew O’Sullivan1993
Scott Cogley1993
Vaughan Mayberry1993
Daniel Banik2006
Michael Sellinger2004
Clinton Boyd2007
Robyn Manhire2008
Andrew Manhire2010

**  Deceased

#   Posthumous

Annual Awards

Ron Burgess (Referee of the Year)

Peter Reid (Junior Referee Award)

Daryl Moody (Service Award)

Allan Manhire (Junior Panel Referee of the year)


    No news in this category